2022 Australian Masters Championships


Women’s winners Christine Bridge (left) and Gayl Robinson in action on Day 2 – Jon West photos


The Australian ILCA Masters was run very successfully between 25-28 February at Westernport Yacht Club in Victoria. There were 106 entries with 31 ILCA 7s sailing in one fleet, 30 ILCA 6 Grand Masters in a fleet and the other ILCA 6 age divisions in a third 45 boat fleet.


The venue Balnarring on Westernport Victoria provided excellent open water and good clean winds. These combined with ocean and wind swells gave some exhilarating rides and fair racing. All ten scheduled races were completed with light breezes on day one followed by six races in 15 to 18 knots on days two and three and around 12 knots for the final two races. Tides were an issue in the second half of the series when they were pushing the fleet over the start line. On the final day the second ILCA 6 fleet managed four general recalls and three black flag starts before the final race got away minus the 25% of the fleet which were black flagged.


The Westernport Yacht Club did a fabulous job both on and off the water. Racing was run like clockwork and the logistics of launch and retrieval of the support boats from Westernport, Sommers and bay side clubs were run with military precision. Catering at the club after racing, the functions and free beer from an event sponsor Bright Brewery were all much appreciated by the sailors.


There was a two day coaching clinic lead by Brody Riley & VLA head coach Rhett Gowans  held before the series. This was fully subscribed and very successful.


The winner of the ILCA 7 fleet was Master Brett Bayer WSC/DBSC. Brett won six races edging out Apprentice Matt Blakey PMYC. Sommers YC Apprentice Sean Bly was third. In the ILCA 6 GM fleet John Jager McCrae YC won by a point from Sandringham sailor James Mitchell with David Early GRSC third.


The full results with age divisions scored separately are Here.


The age division podium places are listed below.


Division 1st 2nd 3rd First Women
ILCA 6 Apprentice Vaimooia Ripley MHASC Vaimooia Ripley MHASC
ILCA 6 Master Owen Mc Mahon RBYC Danial Blight BSS/RQYS Gayl Robinson SYC Gayl Robinson SYC
ILCA 6 GM John Jager McCYC James Mitchell SYC David Early GRSC Christine Bridge RQYS
ILCA 6 GGM Jeff Loosemore GR/MHASC Tim Alexander NSC Michael Pitt RQYS
ILCA 6 Legend Kerry Waraker RQYS Lew Verdon MHASC Kevin Phillips GSC
ILCA 7 Apprentice Matt Blakey PMYC Sean Bly Somers YC David Newman DBSC
ILCA  Master Rod Barnes DBSC Nick Alexander MHASC/DBSC Stuart Holdsworth RPAYC
ILCA  GM Brett Beyer WSC/DBSC Gavin Dagley PMYC Steve Gunther PMYC
ILCA  GGM Gary Martin Darwin SC Mike Stockdale PLYC


There are great photos by Jon West which you can view and purchase Here.



ILCA 6 GGM winner Jeff Loosemore & ILCA 7 winners Brett Beyer GM & Matt Blakey AM – Jon West photos